Distinguished Visiting Fellows

In addition to its extensive network of researchers around the world, IIASA collaborates with many eminent scholars who are enthusiastic about contributing to IIASA analysis and policy reach. The following have been made IIASA Distinguished Visiting Fellows.

The IIASA Distinguished Visiting Fellows Award was established by the IIASA Council in 2013 to recognize the contribution of distinguished scholars to IIASA research and is awarded to eminent scholars for a period of three years from the date of its awarding. The following have been made IIASA Distinguished Visiting Fellows.

19 November 2019
Eric Lambin

On 19 November 2019, the Council, recognizing the importance of an international and interdisciplinary approach to land management beyond national borders, appointed Professor Eric Lambin as IIASA Distinguished Visiting Fellow.  More

24 May 2019
Professor Yoichi Kaya

On 24 May 2019, Yoichi Kaya, Director General of the Research Institute of Innovative Technology for the Earth (RITE) became a IIASA Distinguished Visiting Fellow.  More

06 May 2019
Dr. Leena Srivastava

On 6 May 2019, Leena Srivastava, Vice Chancellor of the TERI School of Advanced Studies, New Delhi became a IIASA Distinguished Visiting Fellow.  More

11 December 2018
Dr. Heide Hackmann

Dr. Heide Hackmann is the CEO of the International Science Council, having previously been the Executive Director of the International Council for Science (ICSU) since March 2015.  More

26 June 2018
Professor Helga Kromp-Kolb

Prof. Helga Kromp-Kolb is the Head of the Institute of Meteorology and of the Center for Global Change and Sustainability at the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, Vienna (BOKU), where she has also been a full professor since 1995.  More

25 June 2018
Professor Dame Lesley Anne Glover

Professor Dame Lesley Anne Glover is the President of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and pioneered science advice to policy both nationally and internationally.  More

13 November 2017
Sir Peter Gluckman

Sir Peter Gluckman is the Chief Science Advisor to the Government of New Zealand and Chair of the International Network for Government Science Advice.  More

16 November 2016
Vladimir E. Fortov

Vladimir Fortov is a renowned physicist, president of the Russian Academy of Sciences, and former Deputy Prime Minister of Russia. His work has helped define modern physics and engineering.  More

14 November 2016
Professor Eugene Kandel

Professor Kandel is a world-leading economist with a PhD and MBA from the University of Chicago. His research interests include financial market structure and regulation and institutional governance for which he has a distinguished publication record.  More

20 May 2016
Hans Joachim Schellnhuber

Hans Joachim Schellnhuber is the founding director of the Potsdam Institute for Climate Impact Research (PIK) and — along with IIASA Director General and CEO Professor Dr. Pavel Kabat and Deputy Director Nebojsa Nakicenovic — was one of 18 prominent international scientists to launch the Earth League.  More

09 March 2016
Shalini Randeria

Shalini Randeria is Rector of the Institute for Human Sciences (IWM), Vienna and Professor of Social Anthropology and Sociology at the Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies (IHEID), Geneva. She holds Visiting Professorships at the Social Science Research Centre Berlin (WZB) and the FU, Berlin.  More

13 November 2015
Robbert Dijkgraaf

Robbert Dijkgraaf is a renowned physicist, director of the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, and member of the Alpbach-Laxenburg Group – a reflection group founded by IIASA and the European Forum Alpbach.  More

02 September 2015
E. William Colglazier

E. William Colglazier is a key figure in bridging the science-policy divide and building science diplomacy and international collaboration in science and technology. Currently Visiting Scientist and Senior Scholar in the Center for Science Diplomacy at the American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS), he is perhaps best known for his role as the fourth Science and Technology Adviser to the US Secretary of State from 2011 to 2014.  More

01 June 2015
Kandeh K Yumkella

Kandeh K Yumkella is the Special Representative of the Secretary-General and chief executive of the initiative Sustainable Energy for All (SE4All).  More

12 March 2015
Johan Rockström

Johan Rockström is Executive Director of the Stockholm Resilience Centre (SRC) and a Professor of Environmental Science at Stockholm University, with a focus on building resilience in water-scarce regions of the world. He was Executive Director of the Stockholm Environment Institute from 2004–2012 and has over 100 research publications in fields ranging from applied land and water management to global sustainability.  More

11 February 2015
Professor Markku Kulmala, Director, Atmospheric Sciences Division, University of Helsinki

Markku Kulmala is a world leader in atmospheric aerosol science and a founder of “terrestrial ecosystem meteorology,” a new wide perspective interdisciplinary field addressing theoretical and experimental physics, atmospheric chemistry, observational meteorology, and biophysics.  More

10 November 2014
Professor Peter Lemke, Alfred Wegner Institute for Polar and Marine Research

Peter Lemke, Chair of the IIASA Council from 2009 to 2014, is a leading expert in the field of polar and climate research. He has won numerous awards and international recognition for his work on climate processes in the atmosphere, sea ice, and the ocean.  More

10 November 2014
Professor Simon A. Levin, Princeton University

Simon Levin was Chair of IIASA’s governing Council from 2003 to 2009, Vice-Chair from 2009 to 2013, and Chair of the US Committee for IIASA throughout that time. An ecologist, he won the prestigious Tyler Prize for Environmental Achievement in 2014 for his "research revealing the complexity of, and relationships between, species and ecosystems.  More

12 March 2014
Jeffrey D. Sachs, Director, Center for Sustainable Development, Earth Institute

Jeffrey D. Sachs is a world-renowned professor of economics, leader in sustainable development, senior UN advisor, bestselling author, and syndicated columnist whose monthly newspaper columns appear in more than 80 countries.  More

Print this page

Last edited: 25 November 2019


Iain Stewart

Head of Communications and External Relations

Communications and External Relations

T +43(0) 2236 807 433

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313