IIASA Deputy Director for Science Leena Srivastava has been appointed as one of 20 world renowned energy experts who will select winners of the prestigious annual Global Energy Prize. 

The Global Energy Association's International Energy Prize is awarded each year for outstanding scientific research and scientific-technical developments in the field of energy which promote greater efficiency and environmental security for energy sources on Earth in the interests of humanity. As a member of the International Award Committee, Srivastava has been elected for a four-year term and will be responsible for shortlisting the laureates and selecting two to three award winners​.

This year’s annual meeting of the International Award Committee for the Global Energy Prize will be held behind closed doors on 29 August 2021 at 1:00 PM (CEST). This will be followed by a ceremony announcing the names of the new laureates in Kazan, Tatarstan, on 06 September 2021.  

The “Global Energy” awards ceremony will be attended by guests from throughout the world – representing governments, the scientific community, business, public figures, youth scientific groups and members of the media. These will include the President of the Republic of Tatarstan Rustam Minnikhanov, the President of the Global Energy Association Sergey Brilev, and the Chairman of the International Award Committee Rae Kwon Chung.


Purple еarth globe surrounded by people. Cooperation of people at the world level. Solving global problem challenges.

04 July 2022

IIASA joins the EU Science Diplomacy Alliance

We are delighted to announce that IIASA has been accepted as a full member of the EU Science Diplomacy Alliance, a collaborative initiative launched under the auspices of several Horizon 2020 science diplomacy projects, to sustain and grow their networks, impact, and momentum.
Jeffrey Sachs

22 June 2022

Jeffrey Sachs awarded Tang Prize in Sustainable Development

IIASA Distinguished Visiting Fellow and longtime collaborator, Jeffrey Sachs, has received this year’s prestigious Tang Prize in Sustainable Development for his contributions to the establishment and promotion of the UN Sustainable Development Goals.
Abstract network concept with yellow light bulbs

17 June 2022

Arnulf Grubler elected as a member of the Academia Europaea

It is our pleasure to announce that IIASA Emeritus Research Scholar, Arnulf Grubler, has been elected as a member of the Academia Europaea.