2016 YSSP Fund Recipients

2016 YSSP Fund Recipients; (L-R) Kemen Austin, Yue Qin, Lu Liu, Diana Erazo, Honglin Zhong

Kemen Austin from USA was the recipient of the Ferrero Fellowship. She was hosted by the Ecosystems Services and Management Program and received expert supervision from Aline Mosnier and Ian McCallum. During her time at IIASA, Kemen focused on solving the sustainable palm oil puzzle on the example of Indonesia. 

Yue Qin from China worked with the Air Quality and Greenhouse Gases Program under close supervison of Lena Höglund Isaksson and Zbigniew Klimont. Yue's study was aimed at providing the scientific basis to China's policy makers on future natural gas prioritization to maximize the potential air quality-climate-water benefits. 

Lu Liu from China was hosted by the Energy Program and supervised by Matthew Gidden, Edward Byers, Simon Parkinson, Yusuke Satoh and Keywan Riahi. Lu's ambitious research project aimed at assessing exploitable surface reservoir storage under climate change. Read Lu's most recent publications in Environmental Research Letters, and in the Nature Research Sustainability Community

Diana Erazo from Colombia was awarded the Petr Aven Fellowship. She was hosted by the Evolution and Ecology Program and supervised by Rupert Mazzucco. The aim of Diana's YSSP research project was to investigate which land-use characters best predict the incidence of Chagas disease in Colombia, considering the expanding economy of oil-palm plantations.

Honglin Zhong from China was the recipient of the Ferrero Fellowship. He worked with the Water Program under expert supervision of Günther Fischer and Laixiang Sun. As part of his research project at IIASA, Honglin analysed cropping system adaptation in the North China Plain. 

Print this page

Last edited: 12 July 2019


Iain Stewart

Head of Communications and External Relations Communications and External Relations Department

T +43(0) 2236 807 433

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313