The "IIASA 50th Anniversary Science Diplomacy Event - the Need for International Scientific Cooperation and Multilateralism" was held on 14 June 2022 in Vienna, Austria. It brought together members of the research community, experts, representatives of the diplomatic corps and international organizations.

The Vienna Statement on Science Diplomacy emerged from the discussions held during this event.

Vienna Statement on Science Diplomacy

The Signatories to this Statement,

Recognising that Science Diplomacy uses scientific collaborations among nations and peoples to address common and shared problems and to build constructive international partnerships to this end;

Acknowledging that international scientific cooperation was crucial in maintaining relations between antagonistic parties during the Cold War and beyond. Now is the time for the world community to boost international scientific cooperation, and in response to current major challenges, inter alia, climate change, the global pandemic, and armed conflict, not to withdraw from such informal diplomacy, but to strengthen it;

Believing that this objective can best be achieved through international co-operation based on the universal values of science and bridge-building across a broad group of relevant stakeholders;

Being convinced that science, technology, and innovation, if wisely directed, can benefit all humankind;

Appreciating that international collaboration between national and international institutions promotes co-operation between nations and is necessary to ensure sustainable development;

Supporting measures for scientific support and provision of infrastructure to address emerging global and regional challenges through cooperation and collaborative work;

Recognising activities of institutions worldwide in the field of science diplomacy, both practicing science diplomacy in their everyday activities, or doing research on science diplomacy, or teaching science diplomacy as a discipline; and

Recalling the Madrid Declaration on Science Diplomacy from 2019 that emphasises the benefits science diplomacy can bring to tackling the global challenges of our time and outlines the principles needed to foster science diplomacy worldwide;

Hereby, resolve to actively collaborate in advancing and implementing the fundamental principles of Science Diplomacy for the benefit of humanity.

The Signatories shall actively work towards ensuring conditions that allow them to fulfil their commitments and mandates to promote (i) freedom and access in the conduct of science; (ii) free and open exchange of scientific ideas and information; (iii) open access to publications, and other knowledge and research findings; (iv) research integrity and societal responsibility of science; and (v) freedom of cooperation across borders for individuals participating in research/scientific activities.

The Signatories reject discrimination, violence, and harassment of any kind, including that based on factors such as religion, ethnic origin, geographical location, language, citizenship, politics, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, disability, or age.

In witness whereof the undersigned have signed and support the objectives of this Vienna Statement on Science Diplomacy.

14 June 2022
Vienna, Austria

Download PDF

Should the statement resonate with your vision, you are invited to endorse and sign it.

The signatories are signing on an individual basis and their signatures do not necessarily mean endorsement by any institution.

To sign the statement please fill in the form below:

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

The signatories of the Vienna Statement on Science Diplomacy


Speakers of the IIASA 50th Anniversary Science-Diplomacy Event signed the statement:
  • Michael Clegg, Professor Emeritus, University of California, Irvine (UC Irvine); Chair of the Council of the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA); Chair of the U.S. Committee for IIASA, U.S. National Academy of Sciences, USA
  • Sir Peter Gluckman, President of the International Science Council (ISC)
  • Tarja Halonen, 11th President of the Republic of Finland, Member of the UN Secretary-General’s High-Level Advisory Board on Mediation
  • Teresa Indjein, Director General for International Cultural Relations at the Federal Ministry for European and International Affairs of the Republic of Austria
  • Ban Ki-moon, 8th UN Secretary-General, Co-chair of the Ban Ki-moon Centre for Global Citizens
  • Christian Köberl, Professor, University of Vienna; IIASA Council member for Austria
  • Paul W. Meerts, Senior Research Associate at Clingendael – the Netherlands Institute of International Relations, Visiting Professor at the College of Europe in Bruges, Belgium
  • Jan Marco Müller, Coordinator Science Diplomacy and Multilateral Relations, DG Research and Innovation, European Commission
  • Romain Murenzi for UNESCO-TWAS, The World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries
  • Jeffrey Sachs, Director of the Center for Sustainable Development at Columbia University, USA
  • Albert van Jaarsveld, Director General of the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Other signatories: