15 April 2014

IIASA’s Science Advisory Committee

On 14-15 April IIASA’s Science Advisory Committee (SAC) meet for the first time under the leadership of Professor Mary Scholes of Witwatersrand University in Pretoria.

SAC meeting (C) IIASA

SAC meeting (C) IIASA

Professor Scholes is the third SAC Chair, succeeding Professor Arild Underdal of the University of Oslo and the late Professor Bert Bolin of Stockholm, Sweden. The SAC agenda will focus on a number of new, integrative research initiatives including the internal cross-cutting projects, the Advanced Systems Analysis Forum, and the Flagship initiatives on Arctic Futures, Tropical Futures, and Water Futures.  In addition, the SAC will hear presentations from three IIASA programs, Evolution and Ecology (EEP), Ecosystems Services and Management (ESM) and World Population (POP), and consider their activities in the context of the global science and policy challenges.

The SAC was founded in 2002 by the IIASA Council – the governing body of the institute. It is composed of eminent scientists from around the world, "to ensure that IIASA's work continues to meet highest standards in both scientific merit and policy relevance." The SAC advises the Council and the Director General on the scientific strategy for IIASA to fulfill its mission and goals, with a focus on how the Institute's science program should evolve to meet emerging global challenges. 

SAC members are appointed by the Council to 3-year terms, from a list of nominations solicited from IIASA’s National Member Organizations, staff, and IIASA's scientific network.  Members are selected based on their scientific and policy experience in the areas of IIASA's research, with attention to balance regarding scientific disciplines, world regions, gender, and experience in global science policy activities.  

The Committee meets approximately once per year, or more often if required, and the SAC Chair is invited to participate in meetings of the IIASA Council.

The SAC presently comprises 12 members from 8 different nations. Current committee members are: 

Professor Mary Scholes (Chair) University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa 

Professor Ogunlade R. Davidson The University of Sierra Leone

Dr. Jingyun Fang Peking University

Dr. Lea Kauppi Finnish Environment Institute (SYKE)

Professor Ralph L. Keeney The Fuqua School of Business, Duke University

Professor Joon Sik Lee Seoul National University

Dr. Alexey Malovichko Geophysical Survey of the Russian Academy of Sciences (GS RAS)

Dr. Jerry M. Melillo Marine Biological Laboratory, Massachusetts, US

Professor Fred Roberts Center for Discrete Mathematics and Theoretical Computer Science at Rutgers University, NJ, US

Dr. Svetlana Shanina Institute of Geology of Komi Science, Centre of Ural Brunch of RAS, Russia

Professor Coleen Vogel University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa

Professor Tetsuzo Yasunari Research Institute for Humanity and Nature (RIHN), Japan

Print this page

Last edited: 17 November 2016

Members of IIASA's Science Advisory Committee

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313