IIASA Council Members

The Council is comprised of one permanent representative from each member institution.

The Council is the governing body of the Institute and is responsible for establishing relations with governments and multi-national bodies; for determining financial and managerial policies, and subject areas for research of the Institute; and for ensuring that the activities of the Institute are in line with its objectives, the provisions of this Charter and the interest of member institutions.

Council Chair

Professor Dr. Michael Clegg

Member country: United States of America

Chair of the Executive Committee

Professor Emeritus, Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, School of Biological Sciences, University of California, Irvine

Vice Chair

Dr. Lea Kauppi

Member country: Finland

Member of the Executive Committee, Interim Vice Chair of the Membership Committee

Director General, Finnish Environment Institute

Vice Chair

Dr. Dorsamy (Gansen) Pillay

Member country: South Africa

Member of the Executive Committee

Deputy CEO: RISA, Research and Innovation Support and Advancement, National Research Foundation (NRF)


Professor Dr. Christian Koeberl

Member country: Austria

Member of the Finance Committee; Member of the Executive Committee (ex-officio)

Deputy Head, Department of Lithospheric Research, University of Vienna

Professor Heloisa Candia Hollnagel 

Member country: Brazil

Member of the Research and Engagement Committee

Director of International Relations, The Brazilian Federal Agency for Support and Evaluation of Graduate Education (CAPES)

Professor Xincheng Xie

Member country: China

Member of the Research and Engagement Committee

Vice President, National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC)

Professor Mahmoud M. Sakr

Member country: Egypt

Member of the Research and Engagement Committee

President, Academy of Scientific Research and Technology (ASRT)

Professor Dr. Helga Weisz

Member country: Germany

Chair of the Membership Committee; Member of the Executive Committee

Head of Research Domain Transdisciplinary Concepts & Methods, PIK, and

Professor of Industrial Ecology and Climate Change
Department of Cultural Studies and Department of Social Sciences
Humboldt-University Berlin

Dr. Pradeep Srivastava

Member country: India

Executive Director, Technology Information, Forecasting & Assessment Council (TIFAC)

Professor Dr. Kuntoro Mangkusubroto

Member country: Indonesia

Member of the Membership Committee

Head, Bandung Institute of Technology, School of Business and Management

Professor Dr. Eaman Eftekhary

Member country: Iran

Vice Chair of the the Research and Engagement Committee

Director, Iran National Science Foundation (INSF) and Professor, School of Mathematics, Institute for Research in Fundamental Sciences (IPM)

Professor Moti Herskowitz

Member country: Israel

Member of the Research and Engagement Committee

Ministry of Science and Technology

Professor of Chemical Engineering, Ben-Gurion University; Director, the Blechner Center for Industrial Catalysis and Process Development

Professor Dr. Kazu Takemoto

Member country: Japan

Vice Chair of the Finance Committee

Director, Institute for the Advanced Study of Sustainability, United Nations University (UNU-IAS) and Visiting Professor, Integrated Research System for Sustainability Science (IR3S), The University of Tokyo, Institutes for Advanced Study (UTIAS)

Dr. Amna Jrrar

Member country: Jordan (Prospective member)
The Royal Scientific Society (RSS)

Dr. Kil-Choo Moon

Member country: Republic of Korea

Member of the Research and Engagement Committee; Member of the Executive Committee

President, University of Science and Technology 

Professor Datuk Dr. Asma Ismail

Member country: Malaysia (observer)

President, Academy of Sciences Malaysia (ASM)

Dra. Maria Elena Alvarez-Buylla Roces

Member country: Mexico (observer)

Member of the Research and Engagement Committee

Director General, CONACYT (Consejo Nacional de Ciencia y Tecnologia)

Dr. Kirsten Broch Mathisen

Member country: Norway

Chair of the Research and Engagement CommitteeMember of the Executive Committee

Special Adviser, Division for Energy, Resources and the Environment, The Research Council of Norway

Academician Professor Vladislav Panchenko

Member country: Russia

Member of the Finance Committee

Chair of the Council, Russian Foundation for Basic Research

Ms. Anna Jurikova 

Member country: Slovakia

Ministry of Education, Science, Research and Sport of the Slovak Republic

Dr. Ingrid Petersson

Member country: Sweden

Chair of the Finance Committee; Member of the Executive Committee

Director General, The Swedish Research Council for Environment, Agricultural Sciences and Spatial Planning (FORMAS)

Professor Dr. Academician Anatoly G. Zagorodny

Member country: Ukraine

Member of the Membership Committee

President, The National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine

Dr. Sarah Webb

Member country: United Kingdom

Member of the Research and Engagement Committee

Natural Environment Research Council (NERC), UK Research and Innovation (UKRI)

Professor Dr. Ninh Khac Ban

Member country: Vietnam

Member of the Membership Committee

Director General, International Cooperation Department, Vietnam Academy of Science and Technology (VAST) 

Print this page

Last edited: 23 November 2020


Sanja Drinkovic

IIASA Governing Council Secretary:


Directorate - DG

T +43(0) 2236 807 589

Full list of member countries

Council Chairs

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313