2017 YSSP Fund Recipients

2017 YSSP Fund Recipients; (L-R) Nemi Vora, Olugbemisola Samuel, Parul Tewari, Dmitrii Iakubovskii

Nemi Vora from India was a recipient of the Ferrero Fellowship. Nemi was hosted by the Advanced Systems Analysis Program and her supervisor was Brian Fath. The aim of her YSSP research project was to better understand the US food-energy-water nexus through quantifying opportunities and interventions in food trade networks. She recently won the runner up prize at the Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) Pitt Competition

Olugbemisola Samuel from Nigeria was hosted by the World Population Program and was supervised by Samir K.C. and Marcus Wurzer. Her research project aimed at estimating how many children under five could be prevented from dying if women in Nigeria used cleaner fuels to cook their family meals. She has recently published a well-received article in the Journal of African Population Studies.

Parul Tewari from India was awarded the Roger Levien Fellowship. She was a Science Communication Fellow and was supervised by Philippa Baumgartner and Daisy Brickhill from IIASA Communications Department. Read some of the blog posts written by Parul and learn more about what made her summer at IIASA exceptional. 

Dmitrii Iakubovskii from Russia was a recipient of the Petr Aven Fellowship. He worked within the Risk and Resilience Program and was supervised by Nadejda Komendantova-Amann and Elena Rovenskaya. During his time at IIASA, he analysed the reliability of electric power systems of the Eurasian Economic Union.

Print this page

Last edited: 12 July 2019


Iain Stewart

Head of Communications and External Relations Communications and External Relations Department

T +43(0) 2236 807 433

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313