IIASA, the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, and the Nobel Prize

The 2007 Nobel Peace Prize was bestowed jointly on the Intergovernmental on Climate Change (IPCC) and former U.S. Vice President Al Gore “for their efforts to build up and disseminate greater knowledge about man-made climate change, and to lay the foundations for the measures that are needed to counteract such change.”

Ten IIASA scientists co-authored the Fourth Assessment Report of the Intergovernmental on Climate Change (IPCC), which was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007. The public recognition of the work of all researchers and officials who contributed to the IPCC since it was established in 1988. At the opening of the IIASA Conference in November 2007, the then IIASA Director Leen Hordijk spoke of his pride in the IIASA scientists who participated in the research for the Fourth Assessment Report.

The IPCC Peace Prize was presented in Oslo on 10 December 2007. R. K. Pachauri, Chairman of the IPCC, accepted the prize on behalf of the organization.  In his acceptance speech, he spoke, among other things, of “the power and promise of collective scientific endeavor, which, as demonstrated by the IPCC, can reach across national boundaries and political differences” as well as “the importance of knowledge in shaping public policy and guiding global affairs.”

Print this page

Last edited: 30 March 2016


Iain Stewart

Head of Communications and External Relations

Communications and External Relations

T +43(0) 2236 807 433

International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis (IIASA)
Schlossplatz 1, A-2361 Laxenburg, Austria
Phone: (+43 2236) 807 0 Fax:(+43 2236) 71 313